About Us

The San Pedro Bay Historical Society was formed in 1974 when a group of residents banded together to seek ways in which to preserve the unique harbor area that is so rich in history and was so influential in the development of Los Angeles proper. It was incorporated by the State of California as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization on March 3, 1975.

The Society is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of volunteers from all facets of the community. The purpose of the Society is to collect, document and preserve the history of the San Pedro Bay area and to encourage the identification, restoration and preservation of its historic buildings and landmarks.

Historical material was first gathered in private homes of caring members, then moved in 1978 to the San Pedro Neighborhood Center on 5th Street. By 1981 Peck Park provided a meeting room and Archives office. Having outgrown this space, the Archives were given a home by the City of Los Angeles on the 5th floor of the Municipal Building in 1995. A final move was made to larger 6th floor offices in 1998.

A primary purpose of the society is to encourage the restoration and preservation of historic buildings, material culture and landmarks in the San Pedro Bay area. It was instrumental in the creation of the Vinegar Hill Historic Preservation Overlay Zone and continues to work as an advocate for the historical appreciation of the entire San Pedro Bay area.

Muller House Museum:
In 1986, the Mullers donated their family home to the Historical Society where the Colonial Revival house was lovingly restored and opened to visitors in 1990.

Programs and Field Trips:
An entertaining and educational occasional “Speaker Series” interprets interesting facets of local history that are complemented by a related display that is featured for the entire month. An annual Ice Cream Social and Fireworks viewing is held on July Fourth. A summer wine taste and boutique/yard sales raise funds for our endeavors.
Field trips by bus are planned to interesting historical southland sites on a periodic basis.

Membership information is available on our membership page, at the Muller House Museum, and at the Archives.



Mona Dallas Reddick, President
Robert Bartlett, Vice President
Jim Stanberry, Treasurer
Frank Anderson, Secretary
TBD, Oral History
Donna Dragich, Gift Shop Coordinator
Archives Committee, Archives
Toni Martinovich, Publicity and Social Media
Frank Anderson and Mona Dallas Reddick, Landmarks
Mary Jo Walker, Membership

Members At Large:

Irene Almeida
Andrea Luse
John Mattson
Kara McLeod
Lanny Nelms
Robert Reddick
Angela Romero
Barbara Short
Charles Short